top of page
SEA.png
Beauty Febrianty
Search
  • Writer's pictureBeauty Febrianty

Teaching Practice

  1. Procedures of teaching

There are several materials that I have to prepare before the teaching, especially the lesson plan. I have to assure that my lesson plan can be conduct well in the class. That’s why I have to consult with my mentor to discuss about the lesson plan.


The lesson plan used the E5’s model. The 5E model is based on the constructivist theory to learning, which suggest that people construct knowledge from experiences. By understanding and reflecting on activities, students are able to reconcile new knowledge with previous ideas.


In the classroom, constructivism requires educators to build inquiry, and assessment into their instructional approach. In many ways, this means the teacher plays the role of a facilitator, guiding students as they learn new concept.


2. Time Management and Organizing Activities

In PSU Integrated School, every subject has 60 minutes of learning process. It makes the teachers quite challenged to manage the time, and also achieve the learning objective all at once. The learning process should be effective and understandable. So that the 60-minutes of learning process will be worth it.


The E5’s lesson plan help the teacher to make an organizing time, so that they can conduct the teaching process well. Not only learn how to organize the time, the E5’s lesson plan also force teachers and students to conduct the effective activities to make students get more their understanding in the lesson.


During my teaching, I also felt quite challenged to organize time and class once. I can’t give more emphasize to make sure that the students really understand with the lesson. As the result, when I gave them the assignments or homework, they did it wrong, and some of them misunderstood with the materials.


3. Problem Solving

There’s a post conference after my teaching was finished. In this section, my mentor will state his critics about my teaching, and also give me some advises to improve my teaching skill. This way quite effective, since there’s people who trusted to be a judger. So that I can really understand with my deficiency and how to improve it.


4. Classroom Management

As I said before, the E5’s lesson plan guide me to conduct the effective learning process. The classroom should be managed properly to make sure that the learning process will be okay. I will review, give some motivation and explore their curiousity. By doing that, the students will not be bored, and finally the class activities will be managed well.


Since there’s a lot of students in one room, the teachers should have a good listenable-voice in teaching. They also have to have skill to manage the classroom. That’s why the E5’s lesson plan is very useful. It can help the teachers to arrange time and class activities in a certain time.


The 5E model allows educators to create a unique learning experience for students. Teachers who can incorporate instructional models like the 5E model into their classrooms help students build a strong foundation of knowledge through active participation.


In my teaching class, I conducted a group or individual activities in the engage and elaborate sections. I arrange the activities as a game, so that students will get more interested and will have more willing to participate actively. By this way, I can control the class’ flow process to achieve my learning objective.


In these kind of activities, I also limited the time so that the activities would not spend much time. Beside, it can be used to teach students how to think fast and right. And also how to work properly when they are in a group.


Every activites has its own scores. And every score will be recorded. This is done so the students will pay more attention and will more participate actively in the class. I also give the students small present to who have tried to answer the questions on the board if I asked them to do so. Through this way, I can attract their attention either their participation.



6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page